Monday, May 20, 2019

DEP's Mark Hand Receives Governor's Award For Excellence For Work On Encouraging Electric Vehicle Use

On May 20, Gov. Tom Wolf has honored Department of Environmental Protection Energy Program Specialist Mark Hand with a Governor’s Award for Excellence for his leadership in preparing the Commonwealth for broader use of electric vehicles (EVs).
Hand developed, managed, and chaired the Drive Electric PA Coalition of more than 100 federal, state, and local stakeholders to help prepare state agencies, governments, businesses, and residents for an expected wave of electric vehicles and charging infrastructure.
“This coalition was a first of its kind for DEP’s Energy Programs Office and directly resulted in valuable input that will undoubtedly guide state agencies, utility programs and local governments that are developing electric vehicle strategies. Pennsylvania is more prepared to support EV technology, which will combat climate change and make the air in our commonwealth cleaner,” said DEP Secretary Patrick McDonnell. “I’m extremely proud of Mark’s leadership and his contributions to our department, and I want to congratulate him for receiving this prestigious and much-deserved award.”
Hand oversaw the creation and delivery of a “Pennsylvania Electric Vehicle Roadmap,” the first organized, multi-sector strategy designed to enable Pennsylvania to maximize the environmental and economic benefits of widespread electric vehicle adoption.
He worked with the coalition to ensure the plan reflected the input of a broad range of stakeholders and policymakers.
Hand has taken a leadership role as the common point of contact in Pennsylvania for Alternative Fuel Vehicle incentive programs, designation of alternative fuel corridors in Pennsylvania by the Federal Highway Administration, state representative to the National Governors Association Regional Electric Vehicle Workgroups, and the Transportation Climate Initiative’s Technical Workgroup.
Other Award Winners
Gov. Wolf presented Governor’s Awards for Excellence to 49 employees representing eight Commonwealth agencies. The awards recognize Commonwealth employees for exemplary job performance or service that reflects initiative, leadership, innovation, and increased efficiency.
Among the other award winners were--
-- Department of Transportation – Route 30 Landslide Team: Michele Acitelli, Michael Adams, Robert Byrnes, Jacqueline Evans, Jonathan Moses, John Myler, Jeffrey Powell, Steve Reyes, Dina Salemi and Douglas Thompson
For their swift action in response to a catastrophic landslide that destroyed a section of state Route 30, near Pittsburgh, and displaced 34 residents. The employees took responsibility for the well-being of affected individuals and coordinated repairs to the road, which carries 25,000 vehicles per day. Thanks to the extraordinary efforts of the PennDOT employees, a project that would normally take two to three years was finished in a few months.
(Photo: (L to R) DEP Office of Programs Director David Althoff, Mark Hand, Gov. Wolf and DEP Secretary Patrick McDonnell.)
Related Stories:

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner