Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Sen. Yaw Appointed To Chesapeake Bay Commission

Sen. Gene Yaw (R-Lycoming), Majority Chair of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee,  has been appointed by Senate President Pro Tempore Joseph Scarnati to serve as a member of the tri-state Chesapeake Bay Commission.
“I am pleased to appoint Sen. Yaw to serve as a member of the Chesapeake Bay Commission,” Senate President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati said.  “As Chairman of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee, Sen. Yaw has been a champion for advancing numerous important environmental protection measures.  I am confident that he will provide strong insight and good perspective as a member of the Commission.”
For more than two decades, the Commission has been a leader in Baywide environmental protection and restoration efforts throughout Maryland, Pennsylvania and Virginia.  The Commission has promoted policy initiatives in the areas of nutrient reduction, fisheries management, toxics remediation, pollution prevention, habitat restoration and land management.
“Pennsylvania plays an important role in meeting the goals of the Chesapeake Bay Program,” Sen. Yaw said.  “I am honored to receive this appointment by Senator Scarnati and look forward to serving alongside my colleague from Lycoming County, Rep. Garth Everett (R-84), on the Commission.”
In addition to Sen. Yaw and Rep. Garth Everett (R-Lycoming), nineteen other members define the Commission’s identify, determine its direction and share its workload.
Fifteen are state legislators and include Sen. Richard Alloway (R-Franklin); Rep. Ron Miller (R-York) (retired) and state Rep. Michael Sturla (D-Lancaster); three are cabinet-level secretaries, including Pennsylvania Environmental Protection Acting Secretary Dana Aunkst and three citizen representatives, including G. Warren Elliott of Chambersburg.  
The full range of urban, suburban and rural life enjoyed in the watershed is represented on the bipartisan Commission, with each member contributing his or her unique perspective knowledge and expertise.
The Chesapeake Bay Commission was established in 1980 to assist the states in cooperatively managing the Chesapeake Bay. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania became a member in 1985. Part of the Chesapeake Bay Commission’s ultimate goal is to clean up pollution, restore habitats and protect fish and wildlife.
“The senate district I am proud to represent is unique in that it includes both the North Branch and the West Branch of the Susquehanna River, the largest tributary of the Chesapeake Bay,” Sen. Yaw added.  “It is very important that we continue to work with area landowners, farmers, conservationists and local officials to achieve the best possible results for a cleaner Chesapeake Bay.”

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner