Thursday, December 29, 2016

Senate Republicans, Democrats Announce Standing Committee Chairs For 2017-2018

Senate President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson) and Senate Minority Leader Jay Costa (D-Allegheny) Thursday announced the Majority and Minority Chairs for each of the 22 Senate Standing Committees for the 2017-2018 legislative session. Eleven of the chairs are new to their committees.
Republicans have 11 new Committee Chairs and Democrats have six.
“I am pleased to announce today the Chairs of each of the 22 Senate Standing Committees,” said Sen. Scarnati. “The Senate Republican Caucus is comprised of members with extensive knowledge of various issue areas, many of whom will provide committee direction this session. I am confident these Committee Chairs will ensure that legislation receives close examination before advancing to the full Senate.”
“Our Senate Democratic committee chairs have the breadth and depth of experience, expertise and institutional knowledge necessary to address issues important to and affecting Pennsylvanians and their families,” said Sen. Costa.  “We recognize the challenges in front of us in the upcoming session and look forward to working with our colleagues in the Senate and the House on policy issues and legislation that will move Pennsylvania forward.”
Senate Standing Committee Chair Assignments:
-- Aging & Youth –
Majority: Sen. Michele Brooks (R-Crawford)
Minority: Sen. Art Haywood (D-Philadelphia)
-- Agriculture & Rural Affairs –
Majority: Sen. Elder Vogel (R-Beaver)
Minority: Sen. Judy Schwank (D-Berks)
-- Appropriations –
Majority: Sen. Pat Browne (R-Lehigh)
Minority: Sen. Vincent Hughes (D-Philadelphia)
-- Banking & Insurance –
Majority: Sen. Don White (R-Indiana)
Minority: Sen. Sharif Street (D-Philadelphia) NEW
-- Communications & Technology –
Majority: Sen. Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster) NEW
Minority: Sen. Sen. Art Haywood (D-Philadelphia) NEW
-- Community, Economic & Recreational Development –
Majority: Sen. Mario Scavello (R-Monroe) NEW
Minority: Sen. Larry Farnese (D-Philadelphia) NEW
-- Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure –
Majority: Sen. Robert Tomlinson (R-Bucks)
Minority: Sen. Lisa Boscola (D-Lehigh)
-- Education –
Majority: Sen. John Eichelberger (R-Blair) NEW
Minority: Sen. Andrew Dinniman (D-Chester)
-- Environmental Resources & Energy –
Majority: Sen. Gene Yaw (R-Lycoming)
Minority: Sen. John Yudichak (D-Luzerne)
-- Finance –
Majority: Sen. Scott Hutchinson (R-Venango) NEW
Minority: Sen. John Blake (D-Lackawanna)
-- Game & Fisheries –
Majority: Sen. Pat Stefano (R-Fayette) NEW
Minority: Sen. Jim Brewster (D-Allegheny)
-- Intergovernmental Operations –
Majority: Sen. Camera Bartolotta (R-Washington) NEW
Minority: Sen. Anthony Williams (D-Philadelphia) NEW
-- Judiciary –
Majority: Sen. Stewart Greenleaf (R-Montgomery)
Minority: Sen. Daylin Leach (D-Montgomery)
-- Labor & Industry –
Majority: Sen. Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland) NEW
Minority: Sen. Tina Tartaglione (D-Philadelphia)
-- Law & Justice –
Majority: Sen. Charles McIlhinney (R-Bucks)
Minority: Sen. Jim Brewster (D-Allegheny)
-- Local Government –
Majority: Sen. Scott Wagner (R-York) NEW
Minority: Sen. John Blake (D-Lackawanna) NEW
-- Health & Human Services–
Majority: Sen. Lisa Baker (R-Luzerne) NEW
Minority: Sen. Judy Schwank (D-Berks) NEW
-- Rules & Executive Nominations –
Majority: Sen. Jake Corman (R-Centre)
Minority: Sen. Jay Costa (D-Allegheny)
-- State Government –
Majority: Sen. Mike Folmer (R-Lebanon)
Minority: Sen. Anthony Williams (D-Philadelphia)
-- Transportation –
Majority: Sen. John Rafferty (R-Montgomery)
Minority: Sen. John Sabatina (D-Philadelphia) NEW
-- Urban Affairs & Housing –
Majority: Sen. Tom McGarrigle (R-Delaware) NEW
Minority: Sen. Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny)
-- Veterans Affairs & Emergency Preparedness –
Majority: Sen. Randy Vulakovich (R-Allegheny) NEW
Minority: Sen. Jay Costa (D-Allegheny)

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner