Thursday, March 28, 2019

Still Time To Submit Nominations For Chesapeake Bay Stormwater Network BMP Awards

The Chesapeake Bay Stormwater Network is accepting nominations for its Best Urban Best Management Practice in the Bay Award.  Nominations are due April 5
This biennial award recognizes innovators in the field while sharing techniques for pollution reduction with other communities.
Best management practices (BMPs) are actions that local governments, businesses and individuals can take to prevent pollution from entering their local waterways. In urban areas, this includes actions such as planting trees, installing rain gardens and switching to permeable pavement.
Local governments throughout the watershed are installing innovative and efficient practices that benefit their community and have a positive impact on Bay restoration. These Awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognize these practices and the local governments who have supported the efforts.
There are 7 Award categories for projects--
-- Best Residential BMP in the Bay;
-- Best Ultra-Urban BMP in the Bay;
-- Best Stream Restoration Project in the Bay;
-- Best Education and Outreach Program in the Bay Watershed;
-- Best Habitat Creation in an Urban BMP;
-- Best Retrofit in the Bay; and
-- Most Sustainable Facility.
Projects must have been installed within the last five years, and they must be located in the Chesapeake Bay watershed.
Along with providing recognition for BMPs around the watershed, the Awards also equip local leaders with a list of real examples of how to manage stormwater pollution and flooding with innovative practices and designs.
The Chesapeake Bay Local Leadership Workgroup strongly supports sharing local efforts as possibilities to learn from others, and the BUBBAs are a great place to begin.
The top three winners in each of the categories will receive certificates of recognition and will be featured on the CSN website.
The seven category winners receive free registration to the Bay-wide Partners Stormwater Retreats and one grand prize winner receives $5,000.
For more information about the Awards and eligibility, visit the Best Urban Best Management Practice in the Bay Award webpage.  To learn more about this program, visit the Chesapeake Stormwater Network.

(Reprinted from the Chesapeake Bay Program Blog.)

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner