Thursday, March 22, 2018

Celebrating Women In Conservation Award Winners Announced

PennFuture Thursday announced the winners of the 4th Annual Celebrating Women In Conservation Awards.  The winners will be celebrated at an April 19 awards event at the Independence Seaport Museum in Philadelphia.
The winners by Award categories are--
-- Lifetime Achievement in Conservation--
-- Dulcie F. Flaharty, for leadership in land conservation. She recently retired from Natural Lands and formerly served as executive director at Montgomery County Lands Trust;
-- Katie McGinty, for years of leadership in nation and state environmental policy making as the former Secretary of DEP; and
-- Elizabeth Hill Robinson, for leadership as executive director of the Philadelphia Solar Energy Association, founder of the Energy Coordinating Agency and co-founder of the Keystone Energy Efficiency Alliance.
This award celebrates the lifetime accomplishments of a remarkable woman who has made a difference by devoting significant parts of her life to protecting and enhancing Southeast PA’s natural greatness and for her tireless dedication to environmental advocacy. Nominees should have at least dedicated 25 years of work to conservation in Southeast PA.
-- Delaware River Watershed--
-- Maya K. van Rossum, Delaware RiverKeeper Network
This award honors an individual who has made a positive impact on water quality in the Delaware River Watershed. Her water quality work may include, but is not limited to, wildlife impacts, macroinvertebrates, land protection, stream buffers, bank rehabilitation, agriculture, water quality studies, and environmental policy.
-- Environmental Justice--
-- Rep. Donna Bullock (D-Philadelphia)
This award honors an individual who has devoted her time and energy to defending those who have been the most disproportionately and negatively affected by pollution. This individual has proven to be a voice for those who may not otherwise be heard, and actively advocates for environmental laws and policies to improve the lives of others in Pennsylvania.
-- Climate and Renewable Energy--
-- Christina Simeone, Kleinman Center for Energy Policy, University of Pennsylvania
This award honors an individual who is dedicated to addressing climate impacts or championing renewable energy efforts. This woman can be active in communities, business, government and science  fields. With her skills, this woman has blazed a new trail toward a cleaner, more sustainable energy future for Pennsylvania.
-- Community Engagement and Environmental Education--  
-- Joanne Douglas, environmental artist and educator in Philadelphia
This award honors an individual who has dedicated herself to educating her community about sustainability and environmental policy. She is admired in her Southeast PA community for her passionate commitment to environmental awareness and to educating students and the public.
Awards Event
The award winners will be recognized on April 19 at the Independence Seaport Museum in Philadelphia from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.  Click Here for ticket information.
For more information on programs, initiatives and other upcoming events, visit the PennFuture  website.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner