Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Oil & Gas Advisory Board Accepts Non-Voting Member, Public Comments On Drilling Reg

The Oil and Gas Technical Advisory Board Tuesday voted unanimously to accept the comments of its non-voting members on the report the Board is submitting to the Environmental Quality Board on the Chapter 78A drilling regulations.
Before this meeting, voting members of the Board had resisted including any comments on the Chapter 78A regulations from the non-voting members.  The non-voting members were added to the Board by DEP Secretary John Quigley to provide more diversity of opinion in reviews of oil and gas issues facing the Department.
Non-voting members include: Michael Griffin, Ph.D., Department of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University; Emily Krafjack, Connection for Oil, Gas, & Environment in the Northern Tier (COGENT); Barbara G. Kutchko, Ph.D., National Energy Technology Laboratory; and John Walliser, Esq., PA Environmental Council.
The Board also voted to accept comments on the Chapter 78A regulations from the public.  Comments should be sent by email to:
The timeline is very short to submit comments to the Board.  DEP expects to finalize the Chapter 78 and 78A regulation, comment/response document and regulatory analysis form and send it to the EQB on or about January 6.  The EQB is scheduled to meet on the regulation February 3.
The Advisory Board’s comments on the regulation are submitted to the EQB with the other parts of the final rulemaking package.
Conventional Drillers
The Conventional Advisory Committee met by conference call for about 40 minutes Tuesday to finalize its comments to the Environmental Quality Board on the Chapter 78 regulations.
For more information, visit DEP’s Oil and Gas Regulations webpage or contact Kurt Klapkowski by calling 717-772-2199 or send email to:

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner