Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Senators Yaw, Wozniak To Co-Chair Senate Coal Caucus

Senators Gene Yaw (R-Lycoming) and John Wozniak (D-Cambria) Wednesday were nominated by their colleagues to co-chair the Senate Coal Caucus, a bipartisan, legislative committee emphasizing the continued importance of coal and coal-driven technologies in the state.
The caucus will serve as a forum through which legislators and industry representatives can collaborate on the needs of the coal industry, focus on the utilization and consumption of coal to significantly reduce consumer demands on foreign fuels and highlight new coal technologies within the industry.
"Last year, coal provided Pennsylvania with roughly 40 percent of its electricity needs," Sen. Yaw said. "Pennsylvania is a major player in coal production, creating a number of direct and indirect jobs, and will remain an important part of our energy portfolio for years to come. Together, we can change the dynamic of coal as an energy resource."
"The coal industry is a major economic player in Pennsylvania and will continue to play a large role in helping the citizens of Pennsylvania manage their energy needs," Sen. Wozniak said. "Working alongside Senator Yaw in leading the Senate Coal Caucus I believe we can have a significant impact on policy and help the industry and its workers meet future challenges."
"On behalf of the over 300 companies represented by the Pennsylvania Coal Alliance and 36,000 employees supported by the coal industry, I want to thank Senators Yaw and Wozniak and the members of the coal caucus for their continued leadership in supporting all forms of Pennsylvania energy," said John Pippy, CEO of the Pennsylvania Coal Alliance. "The co-chairs have repeatedly demonstrated their understanding of the connection between Pennsylvania energy and Pennsylvania jobs. The fact is, we don't have to choose between the economy and the environment, we can keep our jobs and have a clean environment if everyone works together."
In addition to Senators Yaw and Wozniak, other members in attendance during the meeting included: Senate President Pro Tempore Joseph Scarnati (R-Jefferson) and Senators Ryan Aument (R-Lancaster), Camera Bartolotta (R-Beaver), John Eichelberger (R-Blair), John Gordner (R-Columbia), Scott Hutchinson (R-Venango), Tom McGarrigle (R-Delaware), Pat Stefano (R-Fayette), Randy Vulakovich (R-Allegheny), Scott Wagner (R-York), and Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland).
Sen. Yaw currently serves as Majority Chair of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee, as well as Chairman of the Center for Rural Pennsylvania Board of Directors. Sen. Wozniak serves as Minority Chair of the Senate Transportation Committee, as well as Vice-Chairman of the Center for Rural Pennsylvania Board of Directors.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner