Wednesday, December 19, 2012

PA Parks & Forest Foundation Award Nominations Due Dec. 31

Since 2007 the PA Parks and Forest Foundation has held an annual awards banquet to recognize exemplary work in state parks and forests by both staff and volunteers. This work helps to improve Pennsylvania’s quality of life and to protect natural assets for future generations.  
Celebrate the importance of state parks and forests by nominating a park, forest, or volunteer that exemplifies the best of the best.  Nominations are due December 21.
The award categories:
-- Cliff Jones Keystone Legacy Award—This top honor is given to a group, individual, or business and is chosen at the discretion of PPFF. It recognizes an outstanding contribution to the protection and/or enhancement to the park and forest system in Pennsylvania.
-- Joseph Ibberson Government Award—The Ibberson Government Award is given to a person or department at any level of government to recognize their work in the stewardship of Pennsylvania’s state park and state forest systems and is also chosen at the discretion of PPFF.
-- Park of the Year—The Park of the Year Award is designed to recognize a park for their exemplary or innovative work in any or all of the following: customer service; education, programming (e.g. events), or recreation; stewardship of the natural, cultural or historic assets; and/or accommodation of special needs of visitors.
-- Forest of the Year—The Forest of the Year Award is designed to recognize a forest district for its innovative and exemplary work in both forest management and recreation for a wide range of activities which include: the ability to provide opportunities for healthful, low-density recreational opportunities that are compatible with maintaining the integrity of forest ecosystems; to provide information and assistance to the public while ensuring public safety; and to promote and effectively use volunteers to enhance the Bureau of Forestry's recreational programming, planning and development activities.
-- Volunteerism Awards—Up to four awards per year can be given for recognition of achievements made by Foundation chapters, individuals or volunteer groups. Awardees are chosen from all nominations by a committee made up of Foundation board and non-board members. These awards honor organizations or individuals that have made a lasting, positive impression on the park or forest that they serve and that have advanced the mission of the PA Parks and Forests Foundation and the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

The four award categories:
-- Volunteerism Award: The winner attracts and nurtures volunteers and actively engages them in a wide range of projects, logged significant volunteer hours in proportion to the size and location of the park or forest, or has developed an innovative volunteer program.
-- Improvement Award: The winner has completed capital improvement projects that benefited the park or forest and/or users, provided ongoing maintenance or improvements to trails, buildings, and landscape or innovatively protected the natural or cultural heritage of the park or forest.
-- Education Award: The winner provides ongoing educational support or programming, provides a stewardship message through events and programs, and/or organizes events that support the park and/or the gateway communities.
-- Young Volunteer Award:  This award recognizes a significant contribution to a park or forest by a person under the age of 25. The contribution could be in volunteer hours, a significant project, an innovative idea, or more.
Click Here to download the nomination form and eligibility requirements or contact Foundation President, Marci Mowery at 717-236-7644 or send email to:

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner