Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Northeast Environmental Partners Name 2010 Award Recipients

The Northeast Environmental Partners this week named the seven winners of the Environmental Partnership Awards and the Thomas P. Shelburne Environmental Leadership Award.
The awards will be presented on October 14 at a special, “An Evening for Pennsylvania’s Environment,” dinner at the Woodlands Inn & Resort in Wilkes-Barre.
The Northeast Pennsylvania Environmental Partners announces the recipients of the Environmental Partnership Awards for 2010:
-- Field Habitat Partnership at Nescopeck State Park, Luzerne County: Field Habitat Partnership is being honored for their work to restore more than 60 acres of old fields located within Nescopeck State Park in Butler Township, Luzerne County in an area known as the old Hoda Farm.
-- Susan Gallagher, Chief Naturalist, Carbon County Environmental Education Center (CCEEC), Carbon County: Gallagher is being honored for her work as the planner, teacher and coordinator of all the environmental educational activities at the CCEEC. Gallagher has been with the CCEEC since 1988 and became the Chief Naturalist in 1998.
-- Keystone Active Zone Passport Program, Luzerne County: The Keystone Active Zone Passport Program is being honored for its successful efforts at inspiring thousands of Luzerne County residents to “get outside” and be active. In 2009, the Passport Program had 915 participants and currently has 605 people registered for the 2010 program.
-- Ryan Koch, Natural Resource Conservation Service Coordinator, Lackawanna County: Koch is being honored for his work and achievements in bringing together partners, organizations and individuals to work on a variety of environmental projects including native grasses, bio-fuels and sustainable energy.
-- Don Miller, Technology Instructor at Clear Run Elementary Center, Monroe County: Miller is being honored for his efforts to preserve Monroe County’s natural resources via his career as an educator as well as his numerous other activities.
-- Schuylkill County Sportsman Association, Schuylkill County: The Schuylkill County Sportsman Association is being honored for their activities to protect and manage the fish and wildlife habitat of Schuylkill County.
-- Dr. Jerry M. Skinner, Susquehanna County: Dr. Skinner is being honored for his outstanding achievements as a professor of biology at Keystone College, educator for the Keystone College Environmental Education Institute and the resident Naturalist and Volunteer Steward at the Nature Conservancy’s Woodbourne Forest and Wildlife Sanctuary in Susquehanna County.
In addition to his work as a Biology Professor at Keystone College, Dr. Skinner teaches a variety of courses including the “Flora and Fauna of Pennsylvania” (created by Dr. Skinner) for teachers enrolled in the Keystone College Environmental Education Institute, conducts nature education and natural history activities in partnership with Lackawanna State Park, Salt Springs State Park and Endless Mountains Nature Center, conducts aquatic fauna studies in the Ackerly Creek Watershed and lead the Eco Club at Keystone College.
Thomas P. Shelburne Award
The Sixteenth Annual Thomas P. Shelburne Environmental Leadership Award will be presented this year to Tim Herd, Monroe County.
Herd is being honored for his dedication to providing environmental education and promoting community collaboration for the benefit of the environment in Northeastern Pennsylvania for over the last 30 years.
This year’s Keynote address will be given by Joanne Denworth, Land Use and Environmental Lawyer who has been working in Gov. Rendell’s Office of Policy since March, 2003.
For more information or tickets to the Awards Dinner, contact PEC at 215-718-6507.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner