Monday, January 7, 2019

Senate Republicans, Democrats Make Few Changes In Environmental, Energy Committee Chairs

On January 7, Senate President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson) announced Sen. Gene Yaw (R-Lycoming) will again serve as Republican Chair of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee in the new session.
Senate Democratic leader Jay Costa (D-Allegheny) also announced John Yudichak (D-Luzene) would again be serving as Democratic Chair of the Senate Environmental Committee.
Sen. Yaw
 "I thank Sen. Scarnati for his trust to lead this important committee in the new Session,” said Sen. Yaw.  “I look forward to working with my fellow Senators to advance bipartisan solutions to strengthen our laws and regulations to further protect Pennsylvania’s streams, rivers and forest land for future generations.”
Sen. Yaw has served as Chair of the Senate Environmental Committee since 2013 and represents the heart of the Marcellus Shale drilling region in Northcentral Pennsylvania.
He has also been active on Chesapeake Bay-related issues serving as one of Pennsylvania’s representatives on the interstate Chesapeake Bay Commission.
At the beginning of the last legislative session-- January 24, 2017-- Sen. Yaw was part of a bipartisan group of Pennsylvania House and Senate members on the Chesapeake Bay Commission who wrote to all members of the General Assembly pointing out the need for new, dedicated funding to address the water pollution cleanup problems across the state.
Sen. Yudichak
Sen. Yudichak has served as the Democratic Chair of the Senate Environmental Committee since 2011.
He has been active on issues ranging from ensuring Marcellus Shale drilling is done in an environmentally protective manner, sponsored a bipartisan natural gas severance tax proposal, pursued several bills and resolutions on lowering health risks from lead and on helping to solve permit review issues with the Department of Environmental Protection.
Last year he also promoted local and regional recreational opportunities by hiking and biking the length of the Delaware & Lehigh Trail, making good on a bet on the Philadelphia Eagles winning the Superbowl.
Other Chairs
There were also few changes in other environmental and energy Republican Chairs--
-- Agriculture & Rural Affairs:
   Elder Vogel, Jr. (R-Beaver)
   Judy Schwank (D-Berks)
-- Consumer Protection & Professional Licensure:
   Robert Tomlinson (R-Bucks)
-- Game & Fisheries:
   NEW-Dan Laughlin (R-Erie)
   James Brewster (D-Allegheny)
-- Local Government:
   NEW-Scott Martin (R-Lancaster)
   NEW- Tim Kearney (D-Chester)
Click Here for the full list of Republican and Democratic appointments.
(Photo: Sen. Yaw, Sen. Yudichak.)
Related Story:

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner