Monday, January 7, 2019

Rep. Greg Vitali Named Democratic Chair Of House Environmental Committee

On January 7, House Democratic Leader Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny) named Rep. Greg Vitali (D-Delaware) as the Democratic Chair of the House Environmental Resources and Energy Committee.
The announcement follows the House Speaker’s naming of Rep. Daryl Metcalfe (R-Butler) as the Republican Chair of the House Environmental Committee.
“We must address the serious threats facing our environment,” said Rep. Vitali. “My focus in the legislature has been on environmental policy, and I look forward to the challenge of chairing this committee.”
Rep. Vitali said his priorities include increasing funding for the Department of Environmental Protection, reducing methane emissions from the oil and gas industry, and dealing with the climate change impacts of the threatened closing of the Three Mile Island nuclear power plant.
Rep. Vitali previously served as Democratic Chair of the House Environmental Committee from 2012 to 2017 after serving as a committee member for most of the time since he began his service in the House in 1992.
Rep. Vitali has been an advocate for addressing climate change, expanding opportunities for renewable and clean energy, for tightening requirements on natural gas drilling in the Commonwealth and for ensuring adequate funding for the state’s environmental protection programs.
Rep. Vitali can be contacted by calling 717-787-7647 or send email to:
Other Committee Chairs
Rep. Dermody also named these related committee chairs, which completes the House committee leadership roster--
-- Agriculture and Rural Affairs:
   Martin Causer (R-Cameron)
   Eddie Day Pashinski (D-Luzerne)
-- Consumer Affairs:
   NEW-Brian Ellis (R-Butler)
   NEW-Rob Matzie (D-Allegheny)
-- Game and Fisheries:
   Keith Gillespie (R-York)
   NEW-William Kortz (D-Allegheny)
-- Local Government:
   NEW-Dan Moul (R-Adams)
   Bob Freeman (D-Northampton)
-- Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness:
   Stephen E. Barrar (R-Chester)
   Christopher Sainato (D-Lawrence)
Click Here for a list of all House committee chairs named.
Related Story:

No comments :

Post a Comment

Subscribe To Receive Updates:

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner